Apple Custard Pie

Food

This past weekend I both baked and consumed an entire pie. I’m really starting to think I have some impulse control-related kinks to work out.

Shelly has been hounding me to bake her a pie for weeks, possibly even months. Actually, it has definitely been months. Months and months of incessant pie badgering. I was bound to cave eventually, right?

I’m mostly glad I did, save for all the butter and flour still fighting its way through my digestive tract. This pie is a little different from my pies of yore, which are fairly standard, double-crusted confections. What makes this pie special, you ask? Custard. Delicious, creamy, gelatinous custard.

Actually, I don’t think this qualifies as a proper custard due to its conspicuous lack of egg yolk, but I don’t care even a little. IT’S JUST SO DARN TASTY.

sliceedit

The recipe for this pie belongs to my momma. I visited my parental domicile over Thanksgiving, and mentioned that I had been apple picking recently and had an extreme abundance of apples in my possession. This prompted my mother to extract this pie recipe from her archives, and I immediately remembered her making it when I was a kid.

I figured it was time to appease Shelly, use up my freshly-picked apples, and relive some delicious pie nostalgia. The results couldn’t have been tastier.

I’m not sure what exactly went right when I made the crust, but for some reason it turned out much lighter and flakier than usual. It felt like like I was eating a pie ensconced in Toaster’s Strudel. Plus there was all that aforementioned custard… There was no way this pie was going to live to see Monday.

Here’s my momma’s delicious apple custard pie recipe! Hopefully you will be able to exercise the modicum of self-restraint that I was not.

Ingredients
Pastry shell:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, chilled and diced
  • 1/4 cup ice water

Filling:

  • 6-8 apples, pared, cored, and sliced
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup light cream
  • Ground cinnamon

Method
Pastry shell:

  1. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  3. Stir in water one tablespoon at a time until mixture forms a ball.
  4. Cover and refrigerate for at least one hour.

Filling:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Arrange apples in a 9-inch unbaked pastry shell.
  3. Combine sugar, flour, salt, and cream. Pour mixture over apples.
  4. Sprinkle with ground cinnamon.
  5. Cover loosely with aluminum foil and bake for 1 hour.
  6. Remove foil and bake an additional 15 minutes.
  7. Advertisements

Leave a Reply

