Wave Blanket (pattern included)

Knitting

blanketedit

It’s September now. The deal I made with the underworld gods for everlasting summer in exchange for a tiny slice of my soul apparently did not pan out. It’s gonna take me awhile to get over this one.

September brings Labour Day weekend, however, which for me meant heading to London, Ontario, my birthland and home to my beloved procreators (hi ma and pa!). You know what can be found in extreme abundance in their parental dwelling? Crap I’ve made. Including this lovely wave blanket!

Is this really a blanket, though? It’s pretty small. Not quite large enough to actually blanket something… Maybe it’s an afghan? Is that word even used in the context of warm, comfy coverings anymore? Perhaps it is a throw. What in the hell is a throw, though? An extremely unreliable internet source (you know the one) says a throw is intended to cover an individual during periods of rest, and I think that’s what my mother uses it for, so I’m going with that. Check out the sweet, wavy throw I made!

This project was alarmingly easy to make. I’ve always thought of knitted blankets as extremely daunting, life-consuming projects, but this one knitted up super fast and was really fun to make. The most fun part, of course, was picking the colours. Extreme closeup!:

closeupedit

Just look how wavy it is! The pattern can be found here. This project would be excellent for beginner knitters looking to learn some easy new techniques like yarn overs and k2togs.

On a mostly unrelated note, if any of you glorious readers live in, near, around, or adjacent to Toronto, you should stop by 329 Shaw St this Saturday where some cat-loving companions and myself will be selling clothes, jewellery, cat bowties (!!!), and baked goods to raise money for the Toronto Cat Rescue. This is going to be the event of the decade. Please come visit! Also, here’s a map so you have no excuse for not coming:

Cat bowties, people. You know you want in on this.

2 thoughts on “Wave Blanket (pattern included)

  1. Barbara! I love your blanket! I just might have to attempt it. I always find such big projects overwhelming just due to the sheer size!

    Good news—they have finally opened that sampler quilting class. It is Thursday nights, 6-9PM, runs Oct 9th – November 20th. I am going to submit my registration tonight. Let me know if you will be joining! Here is the link again:

    http://www.theworkroom.ca/classes/sampler-quilt/

    1. Hi Christina! I am definitely signing up! Thursdays work perfectly.
      And you should for sure make this blanket. The stitch pattern is super easy to remember and it uses fairly big needles so it knits up pretty fast!

Leave a Reply

