Baked Honey Lime Salmon with Sweet & Spicy Sauce

Food

salmon

Sweet, delicious, flaky salmon. Why don’t I cook you more often? Oh that’s right, you’re $15 a freaking pound. What’s the deal?

I suppose I do live in the middle of a giant land mass… and fish tend to prefer a wetter milieu… but still. I’d eat salmon every day if it weren’t so costly.

Did you know that salmon contains tryptophan? Tryptophan is an amino acid our clever little bodies convert into serotonin, which makes us feel happy.

Tryptophan is one of those essential amino acids, meaning our bodies can’t produce it on their own. It has to come from the food we eat. If we don’t get the proper levels of serotonin, things get a bit ugly. We start to feel tired, irritable, anxious, and depressed. Maybe not all at once, but you definitely won’t be on your A game. (I can’t believe I just used a sports idiom. I had to google it to make sure I’m using it right, and then I asked an athletically inclined coworker just to be sure. I’m bad at sports analogies.)

When I do cook fish, it’s usually an indication that
a) Shelly has been complaining about eating veggies all week long;
b) I’m feeling motivated enough to walk all the way to the fish market; and/or
c) I’ve been craving some omega-3 goodness.

This past weekend was a combination of all three. And the results were so tasty!

This salmon recipe includes a sweet and spicy sauce I like to smother my entire meal with, but if spicy isn’t your thing the recipe tastes great with just the marinade. Actually, you could save the marinade once you’re through marinating the fish, simmer it on the stove for a few minutes, and serve it on the side. That… sounds really good. Next time!

Here’s my baked honey lime salmon recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. salmon
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 3 tbsp. honey
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce
  • sesame seeds, for garnish

Sauce:

  • 1 tbsp. sriracha
  • 1 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tbsp. honey or Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp. honey

Method

  1. Combine lime juice, honey, and soy sauce. Put salmon in a resealable bag and add marinade. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes, or overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 450°F. Remove salmon from marinade. Discard marinade. (Or, if you’re going for the non-spicy version, simmer the marinade on the stove for a few minutes and set aside.)
  3. Place salmon in a greased baking pan and cook until flaky inside, about 20 minutes. Top with spicy sauce and garnish with sesame seeds.
Leave a Reply

