Beet Hummus

Food

Beet Hummus

If you think you don’t like beets, you’re wrong. Just so you know. Because beets are amazing.

I too used to be anti-beet. I never ate them growing up, and always thought they were ugly, mysterious, and smelled a little. I was right about the smelly part. They smell like dirt. Why would anyone want to put something that smells like soil in their mouth?

Beet hummus is why. This recipe will make a beet lover out of even the most squeamish beet skeptics.

I mean do you see how beautiful it is? It’s hot pink! More food needs to be hot pink.

This recipe was my introduction to cooking with beets. First time eating beets, even. I saw a beet dip recipe on the internet somewhere, and a switch flipped somewhere deep in my cranial cavity. Suddenly I was all, “Beets… are the answer. To everything.”

Since then I’ve experimented with beet salads and side dishes, beet cakes and beet donuts. Is there anything you can’t do with beets? I’m going to go ahead and say no. Definitely, explicitly, categorically no.

I’ve made several variations of this beet hummus recipe, and this is the version I’ve had the most success with:

Ingredients ☑ Vegan

  • 2 medium beets
  • 2 14oz cans chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1-2 chilies (optional)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp parsley
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 450°F. Wrap each beet in tin foil and place in the oven. Cook until you can pierce each beet with a fork, about 45 minutes. Remove foil and let cool.
  2. Chop beets and add to food processor. Add all other ingredients and puree until smooth.
  3. Garnish with additional parsley and serve.
Leave a Reply

