McCall’s M6035

Sewing

McCall's M6035

Pattern Description: Misses’ shirt with princess seams and button closure.

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 10, and the fit was true to size.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really liked the cuffed sleeve! I’ve never made this kind of sleeve before and I think it turned out really well. The cuff folds over the sleeve seam on the inside, hiding the seams and giving it a very clean, professional look. I also liked how the button band is self-lined, rather than interfaced.

Fabric Used: Both shirts are made from woven cotton; the striped shirt is a heavier stretch cotton.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the yellow floral shirt first. The fabric is light and drapes nicely, and fit without any alteration. The striped version uses heavier fabric that clings to the body a bit more. I ended up having to take in the princess seams and back side seams to make it more fitted. I also used contrast fabric for the striped shirt! I had to alter the pattern so the button band was cut from the contrast fabric and attached separately.

Would you sew it again? Yes! I’ve sewn this shirt twice so far, and have plans for a third design.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes.

I made both shirts for Shelly. Doesn’t she look lovely?!

unnam2ed 222
One thought on “McCall’s M6035

Leave a Reply

