Creamy Roasted Tomato Soup

Food

Creamy Roasted Tomato Soup

I hate tomatoes. Their vile, slimy, seed-filled innards disgust me on a very visceral level. Why are they so wet and sloppy? Why are they so full of mushy, semi-congealed seeds? Why are they so difficult to slice through, despite their soupy insides?

More importantly, why do I love this soup so much?

I’ve been making this soup for a couple of years, and during that time I’ve conducted some pretty momentous soul-searching. Here’s what I’ve learned: I don’t hate tomatoes; I hate the texture of tomatoes! Ketchup and salsa are OK in my books, but the thought of eating a slice of raw tomato churns my stomach.

When I was making this soup Shelly scooped up a bowl before I had a chance to puree and I watched in disgust as she shoveled chunks of brothy, roasted tomatoes into her mouth. But as soon as I blended everything together I ladled myself a bowl and let the tomatoey goodness slide right down my gullet, because damn this soup is good.

I remember serving this to Shelly’s brother once who, upon tasting it, exclaimed “I can taste all the vegetables!” (I think he was referring to the combination of garlic, onions, celery, and bell peppers that contributes to the rich complexity of this soup.)

Now that we’ve gone over how remarkably delicious this soup is let’s talk its health benefits. Tomatoes are full of vitamins A and C, folic acid, antioxidants, beta-carotene, and a magnitude of other things that keep us happy and healthy. Basically, tomatoes are really really good for us (despite how unforgivably disgusting they are).

If you’re a tomato lover, you will love this soup. If you are a tomato hater, experiment a bit! For me, pureed tomatoes is the answer, and I can’t get enough of this creamy, delicious soup.

Ingredients ☑ Vegetarian

Adapted from this goboroot recipe.

  • 2 kg heirloom tomatoes, sliced into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 red bell peppers, seeded and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 onions, sliced into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 10 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 cup(s) olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 ribs celery, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 4 cup(s) vegetable broth
  • 1-2 red chilies (optional)
  • 1 cup(s) cream (half and half)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Dried parsley

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Place the tomatoes, bell peppers, onions, and garlic on a rimmed baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar, salt, and pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Coat vegetables evenly. Roast until slightly charred, about 30 minutes.
  3. Toss vegetables in their own rendered liquid and roast for another 10 minutes.
  4. In a large pot, melt the butter and sauté the celery over medium high heat for 2-3 minutes.
  5. Add the roasted vegetables and liquid do the pot. Add chilies. Bring to a simmer.
  6. Add the vegetable broth and simmer 30 minutes, skimming often.
  7. Transfer the soup to a food processor or blender and puree until smooth. Return soup to the pot.
  8. Add warmed cream. Garnish with Parmesan and parsley and serve.
2 thoughts on “Creamy Roasted Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

