Chocolate Sauerkraut Bundt Cake

Food

Chocolate Sauerkraut Bundt Cake

Let my start by saying that hiding vegetables in chocolatey desserts is one of my favourite activities. Vegetables and chocolate are totally meant to be together. There’s something very satisfying about watching someone tear into their dessert and feeling a grin spread across my face as I say “I bet you can’t guess what’s in that”. Like really satisfying. We’re talking pathological levels of satisfaction here.

In the case of this particular cake, the sauerkraut (which I intend to be able to spell correctly by the end of this post) adds a rich moistness, giving it a not-quite-cake-not-quite-a-brownie texture. It’s really, really tasty. Oh, and vegan!

I feel obligated to disclose that I ate five pieces of this cake in a single sitting. Actually, that’s not accurate; I ate four pieces at the potluck party I brought the cake to and grabbed a fifth piece on my way out, which I ate with my bare hands in the elevator. At the time I was all, “It’s vegetable cake, so I can have roughly three times the amount of cake a regular person would eat!” Do not let the sauerkraut in this recipe deceive you. The cake is vegan and chock-full of fermented cabbage goodness, but it’s also an excellent source of butter, flour, and sugar, so do pace yourself.

As much as I loved this cake, I’ve been feeling a bit guilty about how much of it I ate without so much as coming up for air, so I’m going to do what I always do ease my food guilt: make an unreasonably large batch of soup and live off that for the next few days. Expect a soup post very soon.

Ingredients ☑ Vegan

  • 2 cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cup(s) sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2/3 cup(s) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup(s) margarine or unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cup(s) hot water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup(s) sauerkraut
  • 1/4 cup(s) icing sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat a bundt pan with cooking spray.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, and unsweetened cocoa in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Melt butter and add to flour mixture. Add hot water and vanilla and combine.
  4. In a food processor or mixer, combine batter and sauerkraut and puree until smooth.
  5. Pour batter into the bundt pan. Bake 45-50 minutes, until the centre is set. Let cool in the pan for 20 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack. Dust with icing sugar before serving.
One thought on “Chocolate Sauerkraut Bundt Cake

  1. Sounds really intriguing and great for a kraut lover such as myself 🙂 Chocolate and sauerkraut — thanks for thinking of it!!

Leave a Reply

